Conal O'Riordan, Writer and Theatre Manager, Is Born in Dublin

  • April 29, 1874

Conal Holmes O’Connell O’Riordan, who also wrote under the pseudonym Norreys Connell, was an Irish dramatist and novelist born on April 29, 1874, and passed away on June 18, 1948. His work in literature and drama made a significant contribution to the Irish cultural scene during the late 19th and early 20th centuries.

Early Life and Education

Conal Holmes O’Connell O’Riordan was born in Dublin, Ireland. He received a solid education, which was influential in shaping his literary career. His deep Irish roots and the rich cultural heritage of his homeland were evident in his works.

Career and Works

O’Riordan’s body of work primarily includes plays and novels that often explored themes relevant to Irish society and politics. As a dramatist, his plays were known for their complex characterizations and intricate plots, reflecting the social issues and the human condition.

One of O’Riordan’s most notable contributions to the theater was his involvement with the Abbey Theatre, Ireland’s national theater. His association with such a pivotal institution in Irish culture underscores the significance of his work in the development of Irish theater.

Literary Style and Themes

Writing under the pseudonym Norreys Connell, O’Riordan’s novels and plays frequently addressed themes of identity, morality, and the struggles between personal desires and societal expectations. His works are characterized by a deep introspection into human motives and cultural norms.


Conal Holmes O’Connell O’Riordan’s contributions to Irish literature and theater are remembered for their depth and insight into the human spirit. His works remain a part of the study of Irish literature and continue to be appreciated for their artistic and cultural value. His legacy is also preserved through his impact on Irish theater, particularly through his contributions to the Abbey Theatre, which continues to be a vital part of Ireland’s cultural landscape.

O’Riordan’s life and works provide a window into the dynamics of Irish society during a transformative period in its history, offering valuable perspectives on the cultural and political changes of the time.


  • In the Green Park or The Half-Pay Deities (1894)
  • The House of the Strange Woman (1895)
  • The Fool and His Heart (1896)
  • The Pity of War (1906)
  • Adam of Dublin (1920)
  • Adam and Caroline (1921)
  • In London: The Story of Adam and Marriage (1922)
  • Rowena Barnes (1923)
  • Married Life (1924)
  • The Age of Miracles (1925)
  • Young Lady Drazincourt (1925)
  • Soldier Born (1927)
  • Soldier of Waterloo (1928)
  • Soldier’s Wife (1935)
  • Soldier’s End (1938)
  • Judith Quinn, a Novel for Women (1939)
  • Judith’s Love (1940)


  • Shakespeare’s End (1912)
  • Rope Enough (1913)
  • His Majesty’s Pleasure (1925)
  • Napoleon’s Josephine (1928)
  • The King’s Wooing (1929)